Concert at the Du Pré Music Building, Oxford – 27th November 2015.

Music for solo oboe and music for oboe and electronics.

Du Pré Music Building

The performers:

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Paul Archbold – live electronics

The Programme:

Nigel McBride – uncompromisingness with which dogma is held (premiere)

Heinz Holliger – Cardiophonie

Edwin Roxburgh – ‘…at the still point of the turning world…’

Paul Archbold – Zechstein (premiere)

For more information follow this link

McBride writes about his new work:

uncompromisingness with which dogma is held is a radical new work for the Redgate-Howart system oboe that plays with memory and perception via some of the most transcendentally virtuosic music ever written for oboe.

Archbold writes about his work:

Near where I was born, the coastline of County Durham is marked by a series of narrow forested gorges that cut through a deep layer of Magnesian Limestone. Laid down some 250 million years ago, these rocks mark the Zechstein Sea, a large lagoon in the centre of the ancient Pangea super-continent that gradually evaporated during the last great global warming at the end of the Permian, when temperatures soared above 50°C.

Zechstein is a tranquil contemplative work that exploits the vast range of multiphonics discovered by Christopher Redgate on the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.


Performance of Brian Ferneyhough’s Schatten aus Wasser und Stein

In November 2015 I will be performing Brian Ferneyhough’s quintet for oboe and string quartet Schatten aus Wasser und Stein with Quatuor Diotima.

This is part of a Ferneyhough event at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Full details of the concert can be found here.

This quintet was written for me as part of my AHRC research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. It has been written for the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.

A conversation with Brian Ferneyhough about the new work, written and first performed in 2012 can bee seen here.

Autumn Premieres

Ferneyhough at the Huddersfield Festival

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Quatuor Diotima

Brian Ferneyhough is writing Schatten aus Wasser und Stein, a work for oboe and string quartet which I will be premiering at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival on November 17th 2013.

This commission was funded by the AHRC as part of my research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. The work explore and exploits a number of the recent developments on the oboe including the use of third- and sixth-tones.

The performance takes place at 12.00 in St Paul’s Church, Huddersfield.

For more information:

I will also be giving a presentation with Brian Ferneyhough about the work at the Institute of Musical Research on the 11th November from 2- 4.

Edward Cowie: Colours of Dark light for oboe and string quartet

Christopher Redgate oboe

Coull Quartet

Also in november I will be premiering a new work by Edward Cowie. This is the second work that Edward has written for me. (The first, Kandinsky’s Oboe, for solo oboe will also be performed in the programme). This work uses several oboes including my redesignedHowarth-Redgate oboe and the lupophon.

Chris with Lupophon

Also in the programme is the Britten Phantasy Quartet.

For more information: Warwick Arts Centre

The concert is preceded by a talk.

Re-thinking the Oboe Exhibition at the Royal Academy

The Rethinking the Oboe exhibition has recently opened at the Royal Academy of Music, London. This exhibition runs from January 15th through to the 28th March.

The exhibition traces the history of the oboe from the middle of the 18th century through to the most recent design: the Howarth-Redgate oboe. (See for details of this oboe and it’s development).

As part of the exhibition there are three special events. The first of these, a launch event, takes place on Monday 28th January 2013 at 6.00 p.m. This event includes a short concert on the Howarth-Redgate oboe.

The works to be performed are:

Fabrice Fitch: Agricola IXc for solo oboe ( World Premiere)

Sam Hayden: surface/tension for oboe and piano

Richard Barrett: Fold for solo oboe

Dorothy Ker: Clepsydra for solo oboe 

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Stephen Robbings – Piano

In addition to the concert there is a drinks reception and a special viewing of the exhibition.

The event is free!



The New Howarth-Redgate Oboe: photo courtesy of Howarth of London