Concert at the Du Pré Music Building, Oxford – 27th November 2015.

Music for solo oboe and music for oboe and electronics.

Du Pré Music Building

The performers:

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Paul Archbold – live electronics

The Programme:

Nigel McBride – uncompromisingness with which dogma is held (premiere)

Heinz Holliger – Cardiophonie

Edwin Roxburgh – ‘…at the still point of the turning world…’

Paul Archbold – Zechstein (premiere)

For more information follow this link

McBride writes about his new work:

uncompromisingness with which dogma is held is a radical new work for the Redgate-Howart system oboe that plays with memory and perception via some of the most transcendentally virtuosic music ever written for oboe.

Archbold writes about his work:

Near where I was born, the coastline of County Durham is marked by a series of narrow forested gorges that cut through a deep layer of Magnesian Limestone. Laid down some 250 million years ago, these rocks mark the Zechstein Sea, a large lagoon in the centre of the ancient Pangea super-continent that gradually evaporated during the last great global warming at the end of the Permian, when temperatures soared above 50°C.

Zechstein is a tranquil contemplative work that exploits the vast range of multiphonics discovered by Christopher Redgate on the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.


Performance of Brian Ferneyhough’s Schatten aus Wasser und Stein

In November 2015 I will be performing Brian Ferneyhough’s quintet for oboe and string quartet Schatten aus Wasser und Stein with Quatuor Diotima.

This is part of a Ferneyhough event at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Full details of the concert can be found here.

This quintet was written for me as part of my AHRC research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. It has been written for the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.

A conversation with Brian Ferneyhough about the new work, written and first performed in 2012 can bee seen here.

Autumn Premieres

Ferneyhough at the Huddersfield Festival

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Quatuor Diotima

Brian Ferneyhough is writing Schatten aus Wasser und Stein, a work for oboe and string quartet which I will be premiering at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival on November 17th 2013.

This commission was funded by the AHRC as part of my research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. The work explore and exploits a number of the recent developments on the oboe including the use of third- and sixth-tones.

The performance takes place at 12.00 in St Paul’s Church, Huddersfield.

For more information:

I will also be giving a presentation with Brian Ferneyhough about the work at the Institute of Musical Research on the 11th November from 2- 4.

Edward Cowie: Colours of Dark light for oboe and string quartet

Christopher Redgate oboe

Coull Quartet

Also in november I will be premiering a new work by Edward Cowie. This is the second work that Edward has written for me. (The first, Kandinsky’s Oboe, for solo oboe will also be performed in the programme). This work uses several oboes including my redesignedHowarth-Redgate oboe and the lupophon.

Chris with Lupophon

Also in the programme is the Britten Phantasy Quartet.

For more information: Warwick Arts Centre

The concert is preceded by a talk.

Rethinking the Oboe Exhibition: Support Events

The Re-thinking the Oboe Exhibition at the Royal Academy of Music continues through to the 28th March. As part of the exhibition I will be giving several presentations at the Academy.


Photo:  Hana Zushi, Royal Academy of Music

February 12th, 12.30 p.m. Royal Academy of Music Piano Gallery in the Museum

I will be a guest of Peter Sheppard Skærved at one of his regular Soundbox presentations. The subject will be Towards a New Oboe

Free entry

February 15th, 6.00 p.m Concert Room, Royal Academy of Music, London.

19th Century Oboe: Questions and Paradoxes

During the nineteenth century the oboe went through a considerable transformation: from an instrument with two keys to the modern oboe. There were also a significant number of virtuoso performers, who, if reports are to be believed, had exceptional techniques. However, the repertoire of significant works for the instrument from this period is apparently very small, raising questions as to why the major composers wrote so little. The event will explore this conundrum, looking at the repertoire that does exist, the virtuosos and the instrument-makers of the period. Many of the instruments on display in the Museum’s latest exhibition ‘Re-thinking the Oboe’ will be discussed as part of the presentation.

Free entry

Re-thinking the Oboe

March 8th, 6.00 p.m. Royal Academy of Music: Henry Wood Room 

This event explores the processes involved in the redesign of an instrument: redesigning the key-work of the oboe to meet today’s musical demands involved a series of complex collaborative activities between performer, maker and composer. This event will explore both the processes involved and the contributions made through collaborative activities.

I will also have a special guest: Eva Ries one of the Howarth makers who worked hard on the new instrument.

Free entry

Âwâz-e Niyâz Performance in Oxford

Concert on the 1st February: 2013

I will be performing Michael Finnissy’s  monumental new work Âwâz-e Niyâz for oboe doubling lupophon and piano in Oxford on the 1st February.

The concert also includes:

Pasculli – Le Api

Beethoven – Oboe Trio op 87

Triebensee – Trio for two oboes and cor anglais

Holywell Music Room, Oxford

The performance starts at 7.30 but there is also a pre-concert talk by Michael Finnissy at 6.30

Tickets £15.00 and £12.00 concessions from Tickets Oxford 01865 305 305

What is a lupophon? It is a super bass oboe which has only recently been invented:


Chris Redgate with the lupophon: photo by Colin Still

Re-thinking the Oboe Exhibition at the Royal Academy

The Rethinking the Oboe exhibition has recently opened at the Royal Academy of Music, London. This exhibition runs from January 15th through to the 28th March.

The exhibition traces the history of the oboe from the middle of the 18th century through to the most recent design: the Howarth-Redgate oboe. (See for details of this oboe and it’s development).

As part of the exhibition there are three special events. The first of these, a launch event, takes place on Monday 28th January 2013 at 6.00 p.m. This event includes a short concert on the Howarth-Redgate oboe.

The works to be performed are:

Fabrice Fitch: Agricola IXc for solo oboe ( World Premiere)

Sam Hayden: surface/tension for oboe and piano

Richard Barrett: Fold for solo oboe

Dorothy Ker: Clepsydra for solo oboe 

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Stephen Robbings – Piano

In addition to the concert there is a drinks reception and a special viewing of the exhibition.

The event is free!



The New Howarth-Redgate Oboe: photo courtesy of Howarth of London