Michael Finnissy’s Âwâz-e Niyâz performance in Huddersfield

Âwâz-e Niyâz in Huddersfield

I will be performing Finnissy’s Âwâz-e Niyâz for lupophon doubling oboe and piano with Philip Thomas in Huddersfield.

17th November at 1.15 pm in the Phipps Concert Hall, Huddersfield.

For further information click here.

The promoters write:

Âwâz-e Niyâzis an extraordinary recent work by Finnissy composed in 2012 for the oboe doubling lupophon and piano. It is performed in this concert by two long-standing exponents of Finnissy’s music, Christopher Redgate and Philip Thomas, performing here together for the first time, as part of a day-long symposium ‘Michael Finnissy: Dialogues’ being held at Heritage Quay in partnership with the University of Manchester. See here for full details.’

Chris Redgate and new oboe by Colin Still


Concert in Iffley, Oxford

Iffley Music Society

13th November 2016.

For further Information click here

Iffley village Church Hall Oxford OX4 4EG


G. P. Telemann: Sonata in G minor

Christopher Redgate: Four Exotic Miniatures (World Premiere)

C. Yvon: Cor anglais Sonata in F

R. Schumann: Drei Romanzen

E. Roxburgh: Two movements from The Well Tempered Oboe

C. Saint-Saëns; Sonata op. 166

This recital is one of contrasts and unexpected sounds! The music ranges from the 18th to the 21st centuries and includes the elegant world of Telemann’s Sonata in G minor, a work from his Tafelmusik collection of 1733, through to a world premiere of Redgate’s own Four Exotic Miniatures. In between are two gems from the oboe’s romantic repertoire;  the Saint-Saëns Sonata with its delicious French accent and Schumann’s Drei Romanzen, three of the most gorgeous and profound oboe works ever written. Carlo Yvon’s Sonata for cor anglais is not so well known but adds an Italian flavour into the mix with its operatic writing and demanding virtuosity. Edwin Roxburgh’s The Well Tempered Oboe uses a range of more unusual sounds and is technically very demanding. There is a quotation from J S Bach in the slow movement and, of course, the title also reflects the Bach connection. The contrasts do not end with the musical styles, Yvon introduces the cor anglais and the Roxburgh is written for a redesigned oboe, the Howarth-Redgate Oboe – the latest thing in modern oboe design! And as if that were not enough the Four Exotic Miniatures use four different instruments: the Musette – a kind of piccolo oboe, the Lupophon, a recently redesigned bass oboe, the Cor anglais and the oboe d’amore – perhaps more well known but not heard that often in the recital hall.

Chris with Lupophon


Concert at the Du Pré Music Building, Oxford – 27th November 2015.

Music for solo oboe and music for oboe and electronics.

Du Pré Music Building

The performers:

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Paul Archbold – live electronics

The Programme:

Nigel McBride – uncompromisingness with which dogma is held (premiere)

Heinz Holliger – Cardiophonie

Edwin Roxburgh – ‘…at the still point of the turning world…’

Paul Archbold – Zechstein (premiere)

For more information follow this link

McBride writes about his new work:

uncompromisingness with which dogma is held is a radical new work for the Redgate-Howart system oboe that plays with memory and perception via some of the most transcendentally virtuosic music ever written for oboe.

Archbold writes about his work:

Near where I was born, the coastline of County Durham is marked by a series of narrow forested gorges that cut through a deep layer of Magnesian Limestone. Laid down some 250 million years ago, these rocks mark the Zechstein Sea, a large lagoon in the centre of the ancient Pangea super-continent that gradually evaporated during the last great global warming at the end of the Permian, when temperatures soared above 50°C.

Zechstein is a tranquil contemplative work that exploits the vast range of multiphonics discovered by Christopher Redgate on the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.

Performance of Brian Ferneyhough’s Schatten aus Wasser und Stein

In November 2015 I will be performing Brian Ferneyhough’s quintet for oboe and string quartet Schatten aus Wasser und Stein with Quatuor Diotima.

This is part of a Ferneyhough event at the Royal Northern College of Music.

Full details of the concert can be found here.

This quintet was written for me as part of my AHRC research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. It has been written for the new Howarth-Redgate oboe.

A conversation with Brian Ferneyhough about the new work, written and first performed in 2012 can bee seen here.

Multiphonics and the Oboe

This Friday 25th October 2013: 
Multiphonics and the Oboe – a lecture at the Royal Academy of Music

Concert Room
The Academy’s Evelyn Barbirolli Research Fellow, Christopher Redgate, explores the extraordinary world of oboe multiphonics, addressing the problems that composers come across and the difficulties of execution in performance. In addition, the use of multiphonics for technique development will be considered.

Free, no tickets required

Recital at St. John’s Church Healey.

I am giving a solo recital at St John’s Church, Healey, Northumberland.

The recital is in celebration of two recently designed windows by Anne Mou and James Hugonin.

Telemann Two Fantasias

Kenneth Hesketh The Mechanical Turk

Philip Grange The Knell of Parting Day

John Casken Amethyst Deceiver

In addition I will be performing two improvisations, one based on each of the two windows.

Anne’s window

James’ window

St. John’s Church, Healey, Northumberland. NE 44 6BJ

August 31st, 2013  7.30 pm

Autumn Premieres

Ferneyhough at the Huddersfield Festival

Christopher Redgate – oboe

Quatuor Diotima

Brian Ferneyhough is writing Schatten aus Wasser und Stein, a work for oboe and string quartet which I will be premiering at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival on November 17th 2013.

This commission was funded by the AHRC as part of my research Fellowship at the Royal Academy of Music. The work explore and exploits a number of the recent developments on the oboe including the use of third- and sixth-tones.

The performance takes place at 12.00 in St Paul’s Church, Huddersfield.

For more information: http://www.hcmf.co.uk/event/show/342

I will also be giving a presentation with Brian Ferneyhough about the work at the Institute of Musical Research on the 11th November from 2- 4.

Edward Cowie: Colours of Dark light for oboe and string quartet

Christopher Redgate oboe

Coull Quartet

Also in november I will be premiering a new work by Edward Cowie. This is the second work that Edward has written for me. (The first, Kandinsky’s Oboe, for solo oboe will also be performed in the programme). This work uses several oboes including my redesignedHowarth-Redgate oboe and the lupophon.

Chris with Lupophon

Also in the programme is the Britten Phantasy Quartet.

For more information: Warwick Arts Centre

The concert is preceded by a talk.